After you have your wear and carry pistol license you will need an
8 hour refresher every time you reapply for your pistol license.
Wear & Carry Live Fire shooting dates for November.
December 18th 2022
Call for times and live fire date
June 23rd 2022 Supreme Court Decision Update
We are working full-time to offer the 16 hour training to wear and carry candidates in Maryland. Call Pistol Instructor Barry Donadio directly to arrange your session now 202-631-1153 direct cell
What's next after the June 23rd 2022 decision?
Our best guess is that the State of Maryland will now include SELF DEFENSE as a category to apply for a wear and carry permit. It was not a listed category prior to June 23rd 2022. We believe everything thing else in the application process will remain the same. Contact your attorney or the Maryland State Police for the final say.
What can you do now?
Keep following all the rules and laws under Maryland law and the Handgun permit section of the Maryland State Police until they make changes to the wear and carry application process We think you should obtain your 16 hour wear and carry training in advance of the changes that are coming in order to get it done and be ready to submit your application.
How do I arrange times and dates for the training?
Call Pistol Instructor Barry Donadio directly on his cell phone 202-631-1153 There is a massive surge in requests for this training and if he does not answer he will return your call asap. You can also email him at firstname.lastname@example.org or text him.
We usually have 16 hour wear and carry candidates come to the soonest HQL class in order to refresh in safety and pistol operations. We count this towards your 16 hours. We then meet 2 other times a the pistol range (usually Schrader's in Henderson, Maryland) to complete the 16hrs
The wear and carry 16hr training of sometimes in small groups and other times one on one.depending on demand.
You will need a minimum of 300 bullets You will need to pay for the instructors use of the range in addition to your fees. Are you ready? Pay by going to the "Make a Payment section" and contact Barry for dates. There is nothing open until July 5th 2022
8 Hour Maryland State Pistol License Refresher Course
For all 4 hour HQL, 16 hour and 8 hour wear and carry students
Our Fee $400 for 8 hour refresher
If you need your 8-Hour refresher training for the pistol license you already sign up for our next HQL class. The first 4 hours of your 8 hour class is simply a 4 hour refresher HQL with 4 hours of shooting
YOU MUST READ THE ENTIRE SET OF THESE INSTRUCTIONS TO BE PREPARE TO TAKE THIS CLASS THAT INCLUDES USING LIVE BULLETS WITH REAL FIREARM.
/////// MUST READ BELOW///////
PLEASE DO NOT BRING FIREARMS OR BULLETS INSIDE OUR FACILITIES AS IS SHARED WITH MANY OTHER GROUPS. LEAVE ALL AMMUNITION AND FIREARMS UNLOADED AND LOCKED UP IN YOUR VEHCLE UNTILL IT IS INSPECTED AND RENDERED SAFE BY AN INSTRUCTOR.
DO NOT DRINK ALCOHOL 8 HOURS PRIOR TO THIS CLASS OR DURING THIS CLASS. ANY STUDENT WITH THE SMELL OF ALCOHOL ON THEIR PERSON WILL BE TOLD TO LEAVE. NO REFUND WILL BE GRANTED.
IF YOU ARE TAKING ANY MEDICATIONS THAT PREVENTS YOU FROM OPERATING MACHINERY, DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THE CLASS UNTIL YOU ARE NO LONGER TAKING THE PRESCRIPTION. YOU CAN NOT TAKE CODEINE, PERCOCET, COUGH MEDICINE WITH CODEINE OR ANY OTHER NARCOTIC BASED MEDICINE 8 HOURS PRIOR OR DURING THE CLASS AND SHOOTING PORTION. IF YOU APPEAR TO BE UNDER ANY INFLUENCE OF A DRUG OR NARCOTIC, YOU WILL BE TOLD TO LEAVE. NO REFUND WILL BE GRANTED.
IF YOU ARE A CONVICTED FELON, SEX OFFENDER OR SOMEONE WHO IS BARRED FROM POSSESSING A FIREARM LEGALLY, YOU ARE NOT LEGALLY PERMITTED TO ATTEND THIS CLASS. PLEASE DO NOT SIGN UP FOR IT. YOU WILL NOT BE REFUNDED.
IF YOU ARE USER OF MARIJUANA OR HAVE A MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD, PLEASE CHECK WITH THE MARYLAND STATE POLICE TO SEE IF THEY WILL ISSUE YOU A HQL PRIOR TO TAKING THIS CLASS. IF YOU HAVE A SMELL OF MARIJUANA ON YOU AT CLASS, YOU WILL BE TOLD TO LEAVE . NO REFUND WILL BE GRANTED .
IF YOU HAVE BEEN DIAGNOSED WITH A MENTAL DISORDER SUCH AS PTSD OR ANY OTHER MENTAL DISORDER, YOU MAY NOT BE ABLE TO ATTEND THIS CLASS UNLESS THE MARYLAND STATE POLICE AUTHORIZES IT. PLEASE DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THE CLASS.
IF YOU HAVE CLAUSTROPHOBIA YOU MAY CONSIDER NOT TAKING THIS CLASS. THE SHOOTING RANGE REQUIRES BOTH SHOOTER AND INSTRUCTOR TO SHOOT FROM A SMALL CONFINED SPACE FIRING LANE. IT CAN BE HOT, CRAMPED, LOUD AND UNCOMFORTABLE DURING THE SHOOTING PORTION OF THIS CLASS.
IF YOU HAVE A SIGNIFICANT FEAR OF FIREARMS OR YOU HAVE ENCOUNTERED A TRAUMATIC EVENT WITH FIREARMS, THIS CLASS MAY NOT BE FOR YOU. THIS IS NOT A CLASS DESIGNED TO MAKE YOU OVERCOME YOUR FEAR NOR IS IT THERAPY. THERE ARE TIME RESTRAINTS AND OTHER STUDENTS WILL BE GREATLY INCONVENIENCED IF THEY NEED TO WAIT FOR SOMEONE TO OVERCOME THEIR FEAR. YOU ARE ALSO PLACING OUR STAFF IN AN ELEVATED RISK OF DANGER BECAUSE OF YOUR FEAR. IF YOU DECIDE THAT YOU WILL TAKE THIS CLASS, YOU HAVE AN ABSOLUTE OBLIGATION TO TELL THE INSTRUCTOR IN THE DAYS PRIOR THE THE CLASS OF YOUR FEAR OR ANY PRIOR NEGATIVE EXPERIENCES WITH FIREARMS SO THEY CAN BE PREPARED. WE CAN ALSO ARRANGE TRAINING FOR YOU BEFORE YOU GO TO THE HQL CLASS TO WORK ONE ON ONE TO HELP RELIEVE YOU OF THE FEAR OF FIREARMS.
ANY UNSAFE ACTS, JOKING OR INABILITY TO FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS WITH A FIREARM IN THE CLASSROOM OR ON THE RANGE MAY LEAD TO BEING TOLD THAT YOU MUST LEAVE. YOUR FINGER MUST REMAIN OF THE TRIGGER OF A FIREARM UNTIL INSTRUCTED TO SHOOT. PICKING UP A PISTOL AS IF IT IS A HAIRDRYER MAY ALSO GET YOU EJECTED FROM THE CLASS. ALWAYS POINT THE FIREARM IN A SAFE DIRECTION AT ALL TIMES AND WITH A FIRM GRIP. NEVER LOSE YOUR GRIP OR LET GO OF A PISTOL WHEN SHOOTING. NO REFUND WILL BE GRANTED IF YOU ARE TOLD TO LEAVE.
PERSONS WHO REPEAT SIGNING UP FOR CLASSES AND DO NOT ATTEND MAY BE BARRED FROM TAKING OUR CLASSES IN THE FUTURE.
PERSONS THAT HAVE NERVE DAMAGE IN THEIR FINGERS, HANDS OR LEGS AND HAVE GREAT DIFFICULTY FIRMLY GRIPPING A PISTOL OR PULLING THE TRIGGER WITH A RESISTANCE OF 5 POUNDS MAY NOT BE BEST SUITED FOR THIS CLASS UNTIL THEIR CONDITION IS CORRECTED. CONSIDER THE DANGER TO YOU AND OUR STAFF.
PERSONS HAVING PROBLEMS WITH BALANCE OR THAT USE A CANE MAY CONSIDER NOT TAKING THIS CLASS UNLESS THEIR CONDITION IS CORRECTED BECAUSE THE SHOOTING PORTION OF THIS TRAINING IS DONE IN THE STANDING POSITION. PLEAE DO NOT PLACE OUR STAFF IN THE UNCOMFORTABLE POSITION OF TRYING TO TRAIN YOU WHEN YOU ARE IN A TEMPORARY POSITION OF REDUCED MOBILITY.
THERE ARE NO REFUNDS ONCE YOU PAY FOR THIS CLASS. WE ARE ALSO UNABLE TO CHANGE THE DATE SO MAKE SURE YOU DO NOT HAVE TO WORK THAT DAY OR HAVE OTHER OBLIGATIONS. WE CAN NOT ARRANGE FOR YOU TO ATTEND THE CLASS AND THEN COME ANOTHER DAY TO SATISFY THE SHOOTING PORTION OF THIE CLASS. ALL MUST BE COMPLETED ON THE DAY OF YOUR SCHEDULED CLASS.
WE DONT WANT STUDENTS IN A RUSH DURING THIS CLASS DURING THIS POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS TRAINING. BE SURE TO DEVOTE YOUR ENTIRE DAY TO COMPLETING THE HQL CLASS WITH NO OTHER DISTRACTIONS PLEASE. WE ARE NOT ALWAYS IN CONTROL OF HOW LONG IT MAY TAKE AT THE SHOOTING RANGE. ALSO SOME CLASSES HAVE MORE QUESTIONS THAN OTHERS THUS MAKING THE CLASSROOM TIME LONGER. CLASSES MAY RUN LONGER THAN THE SCHEDULED CLASS TIMES. IT IS ALWAYS BEST PRACTICE TO MAKE SURE YOU HAVE NO OTHER PLANS FOR LATER THAT DAY OR HAVE ANY OTHER OBLIGATIONS OR APPOINTMENTS. YOUR FULL ATTENTION IS REQUIRED.
ANYONE LYING ABOUT ANY OF THE ABOUT POINTS WILL BE TOLD TO LEAVE. NO REFUND WILL BE GRANTED.
INSTRUCTORS RESERVE THE RIGHT TO DISMISS A STUDENT FOR ANY OF THE REASONS ABOVE WITHOUT REFUND.
STUDENTS AGREE THAT THIS CLASS IS BEING TAKEN AT THEIR OWN RISK AND HEREBY RELEASE, INDEMNIFY, AND HOLD HARMLESS ALL PUBLIC SECURITY LLC STAFF, EMPLOYEES AND INSTRUCTORS FROM ANY AND ALL CLAIMS, CAUSES OF ACTIONS AND LIABILITY ARISING FROM OR IN ANY WAY CONNECTED WITH ANY FIREARMS, SECURITY OR TACTICAL INSTRUCTION. THIS IS TO INCLUDE THE STAFF, PROPERTY OWNERS AND BUSINESS OF THE QUEENSTOWN SPORTS CENTER AND ANY PRIVATE LOCATION OF ANY SHOOTING RANGE AND OWNERS OF SUCH. THE ENTIRE SCHOOL AND SHOOTING PORTION IS BEING CONDUCTED AT YOUR OWN RISK.
FACE COVER / FACE MASK OR CLOTH REQUIRED
Handgun Qualification Class Course (HQL) $150
Class instructed by Barry Donadio (Former U.S. Secret Service)
For: MEN, WOMEN, YOUTHS (min age for youths is 14) (same price for youths)
This is the required class to have in order to buy a pistol in the state of Maryland. The class is a required 4 hours long, followed up with shooting the required one shot from a pistol at the shooting range.
There is only one way to reserve a seat in a class. That is by paying in advance for your seat.
Payment in the form of a money order or check is due PRIOR to class by sending to:
Barry Donadio or Public Security LLC 1831 Anchorage Drive Chester, MD 21619.
You may also use this link to pay through our website
Payment must be received PRIOR to the class in order to reserve a seat in the training. If you do not attend the class, there are no refunds once payment is made.
We do accept Paypal payments. Just use Barry's email to send payment: email@example.com. Please send through PayPal as "friend" or "family" to avoid transfer fees.
You may bring your own pistol, unloaded and on safe , locked up.
Please do not bring ammunition inside the classroom. Leave ammunition in your vehicle until we arrive at the shooting range.
You are required to have your own transportation to and from the the shooting range. We are not authorized to transport students.
The class is very informal and relaxed with no pressure or stress. Round table atmosphere. Bring coffee and or food. Comfortable clothing. Sharing personal experiences during class encouraged. Past classes have been generally overall a good time and fun. Ask other past students.
Barry Donadio, former U.S. Secret Service, will instruct the class and gear it towards self-defense/combat shooting.
Barry's direct cellular 202-631-1153.
There is an additional charge for range use $10 that students are required to pay. Bring ID inside to range and you will need to fill out a form with emergency contact.
WE WILL PROVIDE A PISTOL FOR YOU TO USE FOR QUALIFICATION
Once training is complete, fill out your application online at the Maryland State Police website. It is important to let us know when you completed your application, so we can give you credit for taking the class online. Students needing a letter from us proving class completion may request one from us.
Fingerprinting is the responsibility of each student to obtain their HQL. Live scan fingerprinting is at a separate location once you begin the application process. We recommend MARI (Mid Atlantic Regional Investigations) on West Street in Annapolis. There is also a live scan finger printing site in Easton, Maryland. ONCE YOU COMPLETE YOUR FINGER PRINTS, YOU MUST FINISH AND SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION WITH THE MARYLAND STATE POLICE WITHIN 48 HOURS OR THEY MAY VOID YOUR FINGER PRINTS.
Once your application has been electronically submitted you must notify Barry Donadio so he can check you off electronically on the Police website verifying that you took the HQL class.
This is the Instructor number for Barry Donadio that needs to be submitted to the State Police with your application.
PLEASE SAVE THIS NUMBER NOW. YOU WILL NEED IT FOR YOUR LICENSE APPLICATION
Below is a link to the Maryland State Police website for HQL
This training will be given on a periodic basis (once a month). Check with us for other classes.
MILITARY VETERANS: You are not to take the class to your HQL. Just submit your DD-214 with an honorable discharge to the Maryland State Police with your application.
CUSTOMER SERVICE 855-589-2267